top of page

Whirlwind Adventures


Title and Artist Unknown - Let me know if you have info!

So there may be a few folks who noticed that there wasn't a Blog last Friday. Others may be scratching their heads at the fact that this Blog is being posted on a Tuesday. No, you didn't hit a timewarp, my friends. Nor did I get in a snit and decide to skip posting for a week. Nope. This time around my personal adventures developed a random plot twist and I ended up unexpectedly busy... and oddly enough employed. Twice.


Yeah, I'm kind of confused and weirded out by that too, but that's what happened.


Last week I started working at our local retail outlet, Shopko. The store is closing and undergoing liquidation. It's kind of a mess and the managers took me up on my offer to helpout while they go through the closing process. It's a temporary gig, most likely done by May 19th (barring another extension), but I get to help the managers wrap up their own personal chapters with the store and make some money in the process for a change.


Job number two will start shortly as I go into our local Pony Express Museum and help with clean up and preparations for the summer season. I'll officially start as the part-time...um... I don't actually know what my official title is. Guide isn't really accurate. Attendant, maybe? Yeah, Attendant, that sounds like a good word for it. I'll be there for the regular summer hours, keep the place tidy, and (attempt) to answer questions for our guests. I'll also be working on an inventory cataloging project that may end up being a pretty big deal, but we'll see what happens with it.


If this first week has been any indication, I have a feeling that my writing is going to take a pretty big backburner position for a while. I'd be openly frustrated with this notion, but let's be honest, my focus hasn't been on my writing for a quite some time now. My hope is that this will eventually be enough of a reboot physically and mentally to get me back on track with my own goals and projects. Being in a stagnant rut certainly wasn't accomplishing anything, so maybe shaking things up a bit is exactly what I needed to do. Time will tell. The big drawback so far is that, with everything going on, I missed yet another opportunity to check in with our little goblin buddy for a wickedly delightful holiday short. Easter kind of just ran up on me, kicked me in the ass, and kept on running before I recognized it had arrived. I guess I'll go ahead and file that concept away for later. It has potential to be a lot of fun.


So, there you have it - my current status in a nutshell. Like Dorothy on her way to OZ, I'll just ride this whirlwind and see where it takes me. It should be interesting at the very least.


Best Wishes and Happy Spring, everybody!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page