top of page

To Audio or Not to Audio...

No sooner than I had announced that "Ash to Ashes" had gone to print (available in e-book and paperback, get them HERE folks!), I received inquiries regarding the e-book and audiobook formats. The e-book was an easy answer, "#SOON!". I knew it would be on Kindle just as soon as the conversion was completed within the next week or two. I explained this time frame and people were happy to wait a little longer to order and download their own personal electronic portal to Chalisaria.

The audiobook request threw me.

Self and I stared at each other scratching our heads and shrugging. "That's something you do after you've sold a million copies, isn't it?" I asked. Self shrugged silently. That bastard still isn't any help.

As it turns out in researching this notion, an audiobook this early isn't such a bad idea. Reportedly, a significant number of audiobook listeners will actually buy the print/e-book edition of a book if they really like the audiobook and vice versa. It increases exposure across media options, and if you snag a voice actor with a bit of a fan base from prior projects you can potentially pick up some of their followers.

The lynchpin is the cost factor. ACX.com has an awesome setup that puts writers and "producers" (voice actors and sound technicians) in touch with each other. They even offer a nifty payment option that nixes the upfront cost for the writer and lets the author and producer split the royalties 50/50. The problem with that notion is that voice actors are smarter than self-published authors and actually want to make sure they get paid instead of just blindly investing time and money into a project and hoping for the best. (Apparently that's a thing. It's on my list of research topics. It might jump up the priority list here pretty quick.) Many of the experienced producers prefer to get paid as soon as the project is finished on a PFH (per finished hour) rate. Most of the producers I'm considering base rate at $200-$450/PFH. ACX says my book should end up around 16.1 hours when it's done. (I'll let you do the math and have the mini heart attack like I did. It's loads of fun, really.)

I'm pretty sold on doing the audiobook. With the right producer "Ash to Ashes" could be phenomenal to listen to. I'm still wingey (wince/cringe, it's a thing...or should be. Make it a thing people!) about dropping a lump of money upfront on yet another aspect of this project that will take time to see a return. I believe in the book. I believe it's going to do great things, and so will the audiobook. It's just hard to keep that enthusiasm when you're watching the sales trickle in. So my current plan is to post the audition project on ACX with the royalty split option enforced and see if I can fish up the right producer that can breathe life into the characters and world I've created. If I don't find who I'm looking for that way, I might sit on the project a bit longer and consider my PFH options (and alert my physician about the increased risk of cardiac issues). I have one or two voice actors that I've been listening to their samples and thinking they could launch this performance into the stratosphere. They could also drain my bank account and leave me holding the bag (but %100 of the royalties, so I guess there's that).

Stay tuned folks. The ride just keeps going from here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page