top of page

On Minor Acts of Courage

Those of you following https://www.facebook.com/ChroniclesOfChalisaria/ will recognize this from a post from Thursday 6/29/17. I just wanted to get it into the Blog for posterity since my Facebook and Twitter posts don't reverse back this direction.

I tend to find different things inspiring. Music, movies, art, a well worded and spoken speech...

Today's inspiration came when a young man I knew from a prior job pulled back around the block after seeing me on the porch, stopped his truck, and hopped out to ask if I still had a copy of my book to sell from the signing event.

It may not sound like a lot, especially for those of you who've met me in person, but I thought this took courage. I could have said no. I could have been uppity about it (because you know us authors and our egos LOL). I could have chastised him for "bothering me at home." But he took the initiative, made the stop, said hello, asked courteously about the book, and fulfilled his mission to obtain a copy of "Ash to Ashes."

It's the small acts of courage, the barely noticeable events in our day to day lives that make a lasting difference. These are the things that give us confidence in our future endeavors and allow us to face our trepidations and fears when the stakes are higher.

It's the little acts of courage like this that lead to bigger accomplishments... like publishing your first book. (Something I imagine this young man might actually be capable of someday if he had an interest in doing it.)

The really cool part of this is that the young man in question is on the young end of my target demographic. I'm pretty sure he's going to love the book. It makes me all stupid giddy because I can imagine which parts he's going to get the biggest kick out of, and that brings me joy.

Said young man talked to one of his friends who texted me directly to get a copy of the book! If it's true that "Fortune favors the brave," these guys have great things ahead of them!

So thanks guys! You totally made my day!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page