top of page

Taking a Bite Out of the Little Apple


Willy the Wildcat, Friend to Geeks and Athletes Alike

It's the day after Little Apple Comic Expo (Sept 23, 2017, Manhattan, KS, KSU Campus). My "everything" is tired and a little achy. I got up this morning earlier than I'd have anticipated (i.e. before noon) to rap with my buddy Lynn Main (author of Zombie Waltz) about the convention and some options to get together before the LACE Spring event. (Otherwise it will be a full 6 months before we likely see each other again, and that poodoo just doesn't fly.) I also needed to be up, anyway, to catch a call from a local high school senior who needed an interview with an author as a reference for a College English essay. She wants to be a writer, and, by god, you better believe I'll offer whatever support I can to somebody wanting to hit the ground running. (Admittedly, I had to do a double take when I got her message asking to do the interview. Her: "I need to talk to an author for my research paper." Me: "Sure! I think I can put you in touch with... oh, you meant ME? Uh, yeah, I can do that.")

This afternoon has been spent doing the paperwork and administrative duties following the convention. Nothing sucks the joy out of convention going like inventory and sales tracking, so instead, let's review the convention with a happy perspective and a sense of adventure!

That's the spirit, Lynn!

Little Apple Comic Expo (LACE) was a pretty calm and laid back event overall. I got a little nervous when I noticed my artist friend, Seth Groves, wasn't there even after the event had opened. I had just talked to him the night before, and he sounded pretty jazzed to be making it up for the convention. Me being me, I may have worried myself into a frenzy, but, by the power of Facebook Messenger, I learned Seth and Macey were just having car trouble (*Phew*). They made it late, but whole and healthy, and that's all that matters.

Lynn, Me, Macey, and Seth, "Together Again"

So all was right in the world of LACE...

At least until we realized Dakota Caldwell had taken to channeling his psychotic Project Nomad villain, "Nonex." Fortunately, DC isn't much of a "method" cosplayer at this point, so he and Jordan were still fun to catch up with - no disfigurement or random homicide required! (Nice work on the scar makeup, by the way!)

Should we be concerned that Dakota has mastered that stone-cold serial killer look so quickly?

Just down the way we found Mr. James L. Young and his wife Anita. We dropped in to say hello and snag a photo op. As a courtesy I'd list his books here too, but good god, there's so many of them. (Here... just... HERE!) I was alone at my table this weekend or I would have stopped and jawed with him longer. I'd already abandoned and abused my borrowed event helper for way longer than I'd intended to at this point, so I really needed to get back to my table.

... twins?

But first a stop by the lovely and vivacious Susanne Lambdin's table (Author of the Dead Hearts and Realm of Magic series. My booth was properly arranged for optimum merchandising this go around, so there was no need to summon the Valkyrie. It was just friendly hugs and a reunion with my Obi-Lambdin! (Shhh.... don't tell her I called her this. She wrote for Star Trek.)

God, these people look so happy. Don't they know they're at work?

I was just about to make it back to my booth when I noticed a familiar stack of books featuring Giant Monsters duking it out. I looked a little closer, and who should I find, but Dane Kroll (Author of Realm of Goryo, the fantasy epic Eluan Falls, and the thrilling horror Black Friday)! I met Dane at the spring LACE event just before he took a break from the convention scene. He wasn't on the original vendor list, so it was a great surprise to find him here!

He just flew in from Rome and boy were his arms tired. ba-dum-tss

Back at my table, I had some great conversations with convention goers. There were some very positive comments for Kent Willmeth's concept art and some love given to the new addition of Kalamsham to the table. I admit I got a bit fluffy in the ego when people got even more excited when they realized I was the one that painted my little dragon friend.

Kalamsham doesn't like kidnappers, shoplifters, or being tickled with a paintbrush. You've been warned.

I also had the opportunity to have some extra fun with two of the convention goers by planning a promotional scavenger hunt within the convention. (I'd planned for a max of five participants, but it got slower in the afternoon than anticipated). I can't go into too many details because I hope to do the "Con Quest" again, but the two guys who did it seemed to have a lot of fun and were extra enthusiastic about getting my signed book as a prize. Me being a social media twit, I forgot to get a picture with either of them (Doh!). But in my defense, I was pretty excited when they got back with the completed quest list! So here's a shot of what I used to promote the mischief at my table instead.

Dear Blizzard. Don't sue. Thanks!

Well, that pretty well wraps up my review of Little Apple Comic Expo. I'm actually kind of bummed out, now. I don't currently have any events planned until the spring which means I won't get to see all of these wonderful people for a while. I guess that means I'll just have to continue harassing them through Facebook in the mean time. That seems doable.

Until we meet again, my Convention Friends! Talk to you soon!

Coming Next: For the Love of Crispy Kreme Cripes, Jonesy, Get Book Two Done Already !!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page