top of page

Hurry Up and Wait...


"A watched pot never boils."

"Patience is a virtue."

"Life is what happens when you're busy making other plans."

"Everything in its time and place."

"Boy, I said, Boy, you are about to exceed the limitations of my medication."

So this has been a weird week where nothing has been accomplished, but plenty has gone on.

First and foremost, THE AUDIOBOOK IS IN REVIEW!!! I repeat: THE AUDIOBOOK IS IN REVIEW! Jack Voraces completed the recording and editing process, and we've officially submitted the files to ACX for publishing review. (Uh... do you "publish" an audiobook?) And now we wait. It can take up to 10 days or more for a submission to go through quality assurance and processing. Assuming everything goes well (this is totally uncharted territory for both of us. Anything is possible.), the audiobook could be available as soon as the end of this month! Now we just have to wait and see.

In other news, my back passenger window decided to fall apart last night. I have to wait until Monday to take it in for repairs. This means I won't be doing much driving till then given the chance for rain and concerns about driving with an obstructed window (I've got a garbage bag covering the hole because I'm classy like that). So... again... I wait.

I took one of the cats in for blood work yesterday to see if he's heading for insulin shots or if we can still maintain his diabetes through diet. Again... I wait.

I seem to have thoroughly derailed myself in the creative process. Distractions, poor sleep, questionable decisions, lack of motivation and focus. In terms of getting Book 3 started... again, I wait.

Somebody once commented that I have an unnerving degree of patience. Mind you, this person was borderline manic, he had a sociopathic disdain for other humans, and we were standing in a Wal-mart checkout line at the time. Context may be important here. But in general, my response to him and all of these circumstances remains the same. I do what I can when I can, and I try not to let the things out of my control bother me. I can get upset about the little things, or I can let the current flow around me. It's really that simple.

So, till the audiobook gets approved, the window gets fixed, the lab results come back, and my focus returns... I wait. It's the best I can do for now. Perhaps I am learning something as I get older (also happening this weekend).

Happy Birthday, C. Robert Jones

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page