top of page

In Which I Visit KC and Meet a Delightful Celebrity

Let's start this off by clarifying what an extreme geek I am. I play World of Warcraft off and on. I've already bemoaned my extreme loss of time playing Empires and Puzzles on my phone. Last weekend I got to play a tabletop RPG with my gamer friends down the road. This weekend I went for a one day jaunt to Kansas City, MO to gallivant around Planet Comicon to take in the cosplay (some amazing cosplay), see the sights, and (most importantly) get to fulfill a fan boy goal of meeting Miss Felicia Day. Today I'm writing a blog wearing my "The Guild" t-shirt and my (phase one edition) "Ash to Ashes" zipper hoodie.

If you're a gamer or geek in general and you've never seen "The Guild", oh my god, stop reading this, open a new tab, set aside some time and do yourself a favor. Go watch it. I'll wait here.

If you're not a gamer but you're a geek and you enjoy laugh-out-loud humor in text form, might I suggest: "You're Never Weird on the Internet (almost)" by Felicia Day.

I don't typically get excited about non-fiction, but I laughed myself stupid for 170 pages before I had to stop and force myself to go to bed. I also felt understood and motivated as a writer seeing somebody who makes it look easy go through some of the same struggles I have in staying motivated and not letting doubts get in the way. This woman is all around amazing. As it turns out, that's not just a celebrity front, Felicia Day simply just is who she is.

Why this is relevant to this blog: I almost didn't go to Planet Comicon this year. With all the expenses of producing the book and getting promotional materials prepped, it just didn't seem like a good financial idea to go spending more money just for kicks and giggles. Also, I had a plan. A plan that didn't look like it was going to work because "Ash to Ashes" didn't look like it was going to make it to print in time. Long story short (Too Late): "Ash to Ashes" went to print 4/26/17, Amazon's handy two-day shipping put me at exactly the right time frame to make my plan doable, and I was able to get a printed copy of my book in time to take to the convention. Game on.

While I can't recommend this as a plan to repeat (some celebrities have a very low threshold for overbearing fans and their misguided good intentions), I feel like it was the right thing to do in this situation. I autographed my rush-ordered copy of "Ash to Ashes," took it with me to the convention and tried really, really hard not to let my sweating palms damage the pages while I waited in the autograph/meet and greet line for Felicia Day. Hopping in her line was the very first thing I did as soon as my friend and I hit the convention floor. While I waited with my friend in the line, I took the opportunity to talk to a few other Felicia Fans and plugged my book (Handy Buzz Cards already waiting in my pocket). I swear that wasn't my goal, but it was a golden opportunity and I hopefully picked up a few readers by being uncharacteristically forward.

When I got to the front of the line, I handed the assistant my money for an autographed copy of "You're Never Weird on the Internet (almost)". It seemed like a poetic notion for what was about to happen. Felicia Day signed her book for me and said hello very friendly like. I fumbled my way toward my goal as I exchanged my book for hers. She looked interested but confused at first and then her face lit up. "Wait, is this you? Is this for me? That's awesome! Congratulations! Oh wow, it's even signed!" I got a high five from Felicia Day congratulating me on my publication of "Ash to Ashes". I admitted that she had been a major influence in developing the character Sabrina, red hair and all. We chatted a little bit more, and I thanked her for being an inspiration and support (through her work) in some very difficult times. I thanked her again and moved on to let the next fan have their opportunity to meet her. My friend Nathan made sure I didn't blackout after we walked away (I was crazy nervous about how she might react to such a presumptuous exchange. The fact that she wasn't mad or indifferent to my offering was a huge relief). The experience was kind of a blur I've been working really hard to slow down and commit to memory.

In all truths, I don't know what I expect after following through with that particular goal. I felt like it was important, though. I won't lie, the ego fluff alone from having one of my entertainment heroes congratulate me on successfully publishing my own book was worth the effort. There's a fantasy notion in my head that Felicia Day will manage to find time to read my book (somehow in her busy new-mommy life). She'll love it to pieces and want to see more happen with it. Next thing I know I'll get an email or Facebook message saying "How would you feel about...?" and, bam, a whole new set of opportunities and book sales will burst onto the scene for me. Or not. I guess we'll find out. I guess it all comes down to the fact that I felt like I had to try and seize the opportunity. Hell, just the idea that Felicia Day might actually read my book (and like it!) is enough to make my head spin.

I mean, seriously, I finished writing and published a book. I then took a copy to one of my favorite celebrities because I believe it's good enough that she might enjoy it. I don't know who this C. Robert Jones is that took over my life in the last year, but I'm pretty impressed with his kick-ass and take names approach to getting things done so far. It'll be interesting to see what C. Robert Jones convinces me to accomplish next! (Hint: It damn-well better be the next book!)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page