top of page

Hopalong Jonesy

Every now and then something comes along that sets us back and forces us to take a break. Redirect our efforts. Approach a project from a different angle. For me, this last week's angle was redirected to "intensive character study and story analysis." Which is a really fancy way of saying I got stuck sitting on my duff with my leg elevated and wrapped in an ice pack, popping Ibuprofen, and binge watching shows I hadn't had a chance to watch yet.

I don't even have a cool or funny story to go with this. I just woke up last weekend with my ankle messed up, barely able to walk, and a definite complication in being able to sit at my computer for any length of time. Let's just say my work space isn't exactly ergonomically correct on a good day, let alone adaptable to promote injury rehabilitation. Sufficient to say, there wasn't much progress made on Book 2 or any other matters requiring computer access (such as this blog).

In the plus column, I was finally able to see some shows I'd been interested in or volun-told to watch by friends: Sense8, Stranger Things, iZombie. I'd like to think that these shows have also helped in influencing my ideas of character presentation, storytelling, and plot development. In fact, I kind of have to go with that notion, or I'll go nuts thinking I lost a whole week of writing with nothing to show for it. As my ankle finally seems to be on the mend (it helps that I'm not pin-balling around my apartment every time I try to take a step just to get to the bathroom), I can finally get back to my work station and get moving on things. Come to think of it, I'm pretty sure I jinxed myself a week ago when I said "As long as nothing weird happens, these next two weeks should be great for productivity." Go figure.

Happy trails to you and good health to all!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page