top of page

The Eye of the Storm


"Never again!" became my mantra yesterday. I was painfully and extensively reminded why Gluttony is considered a "deadly sin." I sat down after helping with the post-Thanksgiving dinner cleanup and prayed for a merciful death. I did a dumb, dumb thing in overeating the way I did. But what is one expected to do when faced with an overabundance of lovingly made and delicious food? What happens to moderation and reason? What is it in the human psyche of so many people (myself included) that makes stuffing oneself to bursting a reasonable response to a feast day? Why is it so hard to say "no" to that extra helping of stuffing (dressing to some folks), turkey and gravy, or pumpkin pie? (I suddenly find myself both nauseated and hungry at the same time.)

I'm recovering today. I haven't touched the leftovers yet, but they're sitting in my refrigerator, calling to me with their siren song. A new temptation has been added, though, a temptation I must avoid. I picked up the makings of both a meat and cheese tray and a veggie tray. Why would I do this to myself, you might ask? What might possess me to add even more goodies to my cornucopia of abundant food supplies hoarded away in my refrigerator?

Because tomorrow brings: "Thanksgiving 2: The Stuffening"

More food! More family! More action and drama!

That's right, like many folks, I have another Thanksgiving dinner this weekend (Saturday in our case). I already told Mom I have no intention of eating. I think we both knew when I said it that this was a big fat lie, but it sounded reasonable as I lay on the couch "dying" yesterday. It's a chance to repeat the mistakes of yesterday, or learn from them. I guess time will tell which option I will take.

So, I guess don't really have a relevant tie-in to writing or being a writer this time. Food = brain-fuel = writing, maybe? There are things about writing that I am Thankful for though, so I guess that counts.

I'm thankful for finally giving myself the motivation and drive to finish Ash to Ashes and get it published. I'm thankful to all the folks at Createspace who helped me to produce the quality of book that I had hoped for. I'm thankful for the friends and mentors I've met on the convention scene and all of the advice and insight they've offered. I'm thankful for the love and support I've had from friends and family in making this goal a reality. And of course, I'm thankful for all the folks who have bought and/or read Ash to Ashes. It's been an exciting ride so far, and I owe it all to you! Thank you so much!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page