top of page

The Power of Collaboration


Party! I didn't see a credit where I found this. If you know who the artist is let me know and I'll credit appropriately, thanks!

I've always had an aversion to group projects. In grade school and high school I was always more worried about getting partnered with people I could function socially with than the assignment itself. In college, group projects usually meant carrying dead weight or being shut out of the process until the last minute when the self-appointed group leader panicked and dumped all the last minute issues on us the night before the project was due. No group project I had in those scenarios ever faired well grade-wise. For my own part, I've never been comfortable taking leadership in a group scenario even as an adult. To this day, I don't delegate well because I don't trust people to take care of what needs to get done or to the standards that I expect - i.e. that year I got conned into managing the high school concession stands for the fall and winter events. (If it's going to get screwed up, by golly, I want it screwed up my way!)

As an author, I find myself in the peculiar and unexpected position where collaboration is a pretty big part of my job. Not only that, but I'm perpetually the team leader because it's MY projects that are on the line. I either take the lead or the project comes to a halt. How's that for a plot twist?

As you might expect, the actual writing process is primarily a solo effort. It's my ideas, my story, my writing style, and my motivation that drive the project. Nobody else is going to be able to do what needs to be done to get that particular part of the process finished because it's all trapped inside my head until it comes out on the screen or paper. With that said, I (and most authors I know) don't write inside the confines of a mental vacuum. I get energized and motivated to write by talking about my projects with other people. I have friends and supporters who preview what I'm working on to provide feedback and encouragement (Yay Team Alpha!). If I'm stuck, I have friends I can bounce ideas off of or who inadvertently spark a solution in the course of a completely unrelated dialogue or activity. In short, I don't actually do my writing alone, it just looks like it.

As the project progresses, I have to work with an editor to fine tune and polish the final product. Depending on who I'm working with, this has been as straightforward as handing over the manuscript to someone to review and going through the suggested changes without further dialogue, or it can include a direct communication with the editor as the need arises. In the case of my current editor, Mae, I get a combination of in-document remarks and direct messages that help keep the process more interactive. (I like to view some of her random in-document comments as evidence that my technical writing is solid enough that she has to throw them in as proof that she did, in fact, work through certain sections. Also, it keeps things entertaining for both of us, so it's a nice bonus.)

In my first publication I also worked with a team to setup the interior design and layout. I had to adapt what I learned in that process to complete this task on my own for "Wolfkin" and "Nine Lives..." but the things I learned from that interaction made it possible to continue doing what I'm doing today.

Likewise, I've had to work closely with cover designers and concept artists. While I may have the vision and concept elements of this aspect firmly in mind, I lack the technical skills necessary to make my ideas a reality. I've had to learn how to effectively express my ideas to my designers and artists and guide them through the refining phases to get the results that I want. Everything in this phase is a team effort for me. I have to put my trust and faith in their skills just as they expect me to give them the proper guidance and insight into what I need them to do.

Another project that requires dedicated teamwork (at least in the way we approach it) is the production of my audiobooks. Jack and I work very closely together to get these projects done. I give him initial direction and insight into what I have in mind or what the characters should sound like. He does the performance and technical aspects of recording. I go in and review what he's done and offer pointers and support on what works and what doesn't. He fixes what needs to be fixed and we continue on like this through to the end. The fact that he was willing to take on "Wolfkin" as a repeat project suggests that we worked really well together, and I'm incredibly excited to hear his work on the "Wolfkin" audiobook (NOW IN PRODUCTION!).

The book that I'm currently working on has introduced a whole new level of collaboration in its writing that creates a completely new dynamic. While I enlisted the help of a friend for linguistic advice for "Wolfkin," the critical importance of that input focused on the flavor of a support character and me not wanting to look like a lazy twit. For Book 3, however, I have done research and made contact with a number of friends who have instead been pivotal in helping me with the development of my main character and her story arc. Without their contributions this story would very possibly have ground to a halt out of my own concern for screwing it up entirely. In fact, not having the information that I have now was creating delays in production because I never felt entirely settled on which direction to take the main character. After sharing what I have written so far with one person in particular, and a highly informative reunion/meeting with her yesterday, I feel ready and confident to pursue this story knowing that I'm on the right track. This friend and consultant has shown excitement in following the progress of this book, she has agreed to continue offering insight to make sure that I stay on the right track, she helped me solve a major question I had about the story's ending, and she showed support in the assessment that this particular work may have an important and timely message to share when it's done. The input she provided in our meeting was invaluable and I'm excited to continue working with her to see this project through to the end.

Collaboration may not have been my top priority in my early career planning, but it has proven to be an important skill to develop since I became an author. I can honestly say, I wouldn't have gotten as far as I have today without all of the people who have helped to make these projects possible. (Many thanks to each and every one of you!)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page